INDIANAPOLIS – Today, Senate Democratic Leader Greg Taylor (D-Indianapolis) announced committee assignments for the 2024 legislative session. State Senator David Niezgodski (D-South Bend) was appointed to the State Budget Committee. Senator Niezgodski made the following statement:

“I am honored to be appointed to represent the Senate Democratic Caucus as a voting member on the State Budget Committee. The State Budget Committee is comprised of five voting members and four alternates. I am thankful to Former State Senator Eddie Melton (D-Gary) for his representation and leadership on the committee. The trust and confidence you have placed in me to contribute to such a critical aspect of our state’s governance is truly humbling.

“The State Budget Committee plays a vital role in overseeing Indiana’s budget, planning financially, and determining fiscal policies. I am eager to take on the responsibilities associated with this role and am committed to working diligently alongside my colleagues on the committee. I am enthusiastic about the opportunity to make meaningful contributions to our state’s fiscal policies.

“Following in the footsteps of Former State Senator John Broden (D-South Bend), I will be able to represent my constituents of St. Joseph County alongside the entire state of Indiana. South Bend has made great strides to boost economic development and I will strive to continue this growth.

“I want to thank Senator Taylor, once again, for this invaluable opportunity. I look forward to collaborating with the committee and contributing to the prosperity and well-being of our state.”